GCSE results and the stories we tell ourselves

Facing the GCSE and GCE results? Read this post by Andy Tharby
-I believe that exam results, whatever they are, should spur the profession towards betterment, not hold it back.
Every year, after all the navel gazing, my exam results always boil down to two simple decisions:
• Get a little bit better at making sure that no-one in the class is ever left behind.
• Get a little bit better at teaching every topic I cover.
I’m sure I’ll be saying the same thing next year!-

Reflecting English

stories-we-tell-ourselvesWEBImage: @jasonramasami

This year I was staying in a North Devon village on GCSE results day. I had no internet access. By descending a ramp to the shoreline and huddling against a dripping wall that dangled with clumps of seaweed, I managed to pick up a 3G signal and download that fateful list of names and accompanying letters.

As always, I was met with a little bit of pleasant surprise and a little bit of disappointment. There were some expected patterns and some unexpected ones too. From the word go, I began instinctively to turn those abstract As, Bs and Cs into comprehensible human narratives. He did well because… She must have struggled in the exam because…

I have been mulling over these stories we tell ourselves, how retrospectively, through the solid lens of hindsight, we attempt to unearth those causal links that bring coherence to exam grades.

I had…

View original post 876 more words

Leave a Reply

